Canada – Sri Lanka Friendship Group formed in Canadian Parliament


YasminA Canada – Sri Lanka friendship group has been formed in the Canadian Parliament to boost ties between both countries.

The election of office bearers was presided over by Deputy Speaker Anthony Rota. Pascale Massot while the Policy Advisor to the Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Stephane Dion, was also present, the Sri Lankan High Commission in Canada said.

The High Commission said that 30 members of Parliament and Senators joined as members of the Canada – Sri Lanka friendship group.

Yasmin Ratansi MP for Don Valley East, a veteran politician from Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s Liberal Party was elected Chairperson.

Speaking on the occasion, the Sri Lankan High Commissioner in Canada Ahmed A Jawad said that the Friendship Group was been formed at a propitious time in Sri Lanka – Canada bilateral relations, particularly in the context of the opening of a new chapter in ties, consequent to new Governments been elected to office in both countries.

He outlined at length the steps been taken by the Sri Lankan Government in regard to reconciliation and economic development, both of which he said were receiving high priority.

High Commissioner Jawad also elaborated on the economic and Foreign Direct Investment opportunities arising from Sri Lanka’s fast tracked development thrust which has provided an opportunity for a number of Canadian companies to take part.

A dinner was hosted by the High Commissioner at the Parliamentary Restaurant, New Zealand Room, at the conclusion of the event. (Colombo Gazette)